SEO: The Musical

March 9, 2009 at 9:43 am Leave a comment

One search on Google makes a hard man humble…

I have just received a message from Alex via his Facebook account reminding me of the fact that tomorrow is his 21st birthday. He could have done with telling me this much earlier, so as to give me enough time to arrange a pub crawl through Stockport, starting at The Nursery in Heaton Norris, or arrange a party.

However, it turns out that Alex will be having a party with his workmates instead of little old me. Instead of The Nursery (several times winner of many CAMRA Pub of the Year Awards), they have gone for Bredbury Hall Country Club. I have grown to like The Nursery, having stumbled upon this hostelry whilst taking Nelson for his daily walk. I first found about this pub picking up a copy of ‘Opening Times’ at The Arden Arms some time in 2002.

In spite of this, one thing he told me to do in his message was a ‘burn a CD’, which would be played to his workmates. For me, ‘burn a CD’ means allowing your precious Dire Straits collection to be singed on a barbecue. Yesterday evening, I spent the best part of two hours trying to record the thing. Windows Vista wasn’t having any. I tried it on Judy’s netbook, and silly me didn’t realise that it had no CD/DVD drive.

Instead I turned to a format most of us were using 21 years ago, not only for music but also for computer games. Enter Compact Cassette C60.

Alex suggested having the tunes from his birthday, but to me the idea didn’t seem appropriate, so I came up with a phoney soundtrack album entitled ‘SEO: The Musical’. It is a bit like ‘Mamma Mia’, only with laptops, free Wi-Fi access and LAN Parties on a far off Greek island. All the titles of each tune relates to ‘searching’.

Side One:

  1. Searching, Change (1980)
  2. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, U2 (1987)
  3. Needles and Pins, The Searchers (1964)
  4. Looking Out For Linda, Hue and Cry (1989)
  5. Call Off The Search, Katie Melua (2003)
  6. Missing, Everything But The Girl (1996)
  7. Baby, Now That I’ve Found You, The Foundations (1967)

Side Two:

  1. Lost in France, Bonnie Tyler (1976)
  2. Search for the Hero, M People (1994)
  3. I Can’t Stand Losing You, The Police (1978)
  4. Missing You, Chris de Burgh (1988)
  5. Is There Anybody Out There?, Pink Floyd (1979)
  6. Sweets for my Sweet, The Searchers (1963)
  7. I’m Still Waiting, Diana Ross (1971)

I hope he likes his tape (or rather I hope he has a tape deck).

T.U., 06 March 2009.

Postscript:
We met up with Alex on Sunday and took a trip to the Merseyway centre. It didn’t amount to much apart from the fact I was taken aback by the White Lion near WHSmith’s. A fellow from the Derby and Joan club I met in Offerton told me that they started doing real ale again. The last time I went, they were doing Chesters’ Bitter – the notorious ‘fighting ale’ which sent us all loopy. That I remember was when I first found the joys of the 400 Trans-Lancs Express to Ashton, Bury and Bolton in 1975.

Entry filed under: Computing, Internet, Music, Off-topic, Search Engine Optimisation, SEO.

Be Careful With Your Robots.txt The World Wide Wait 2.0

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

