Papa’s Got a Brand New Blog!

March 6, 2009 at 9:49 am Leave a comment

Well, it has took me quite a long time.  Having spent the last five years in Heaton Chapel library doing computer courses, I have finally put keyboard to blog account and set up my own weblog.

My health condition and then ultimate employers forced my to retire in 1991.  I used to work for the CEGB before then bedsteads decided to privatise it and split it to Powergen, the National Grid and National Power.  On the site of my first power station is a sprawling retail park.  At my last one, a prison is on the site.  Progress or what?!?

Never one to be beaten I discovered computers.  I first found my enthusiasm for new technology when my grandson went to Dixons for his new Amiga A500.  This was 1989 when he plumped for the Batman pack over an Atari ST.  I thought he made a good move, because he’s now a web designer and has one of these trendy iMacs.  I stuck to the PC and am able to defend the indefensible by saying Windows Vista is a great operating system.  It looks good.

To keep the wolf from the door (or rather the DSS), I took up a computing course at Heaton Chapel branch library.  Five years on, the habit remains.  I have still to get my own Facebook page, though boast a Twitter account and swear by Google’s range of tools.

I now use my PC as a notebook, CD/DVD player, convenient typewriter and a games machine.  My youngest grandchild (7) has discovered (and drawn me into) ‘Little Big Planet’.   Following my Epiphany in 2004, I have five years down the line discovered SEO and how to create my own websites with hidden text, spam and use of tables for governing layout.

Well, I’d better love you and leave you as ‘This Morning’ has just started.  After being so used to Richard and Judy presenting it, I first found Fern Britton and Phillip Schofield a poor substitute, but I have warmed to them now.  I’ll be lost without in the summer if ITV gets the go ahead with their latest cutbacks.

T.U, 06 March 2009

Entry filed under: Computing, Internet, Introduction, SEO, Uncategorized.

What a Mistake-a to Make-a

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

